Previous Bulletin
The Society for the Study of Pains Nigeria (SSPN) is the Nigeria Chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP). The SSPN was launched by the then Oyo State Commissioner for Health on the 4th of June 1998 at the University College Hospital, Ibadan. Nigeria. The foundation President is Professor Olaitan A. Soyannwo, (of the Department of Anaesthesia, College of Medicine, University College Hospital/University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria) who piloted the affairs of the Society from then till 2005.
The inaugural conference was chaired by Professor J.A.O, Magbagbeola, one of the oldest members of the IASP in Nigeria. Professor B.U. Umeh of the Department of Anesthesia, Nnamdi Azikwe University Teaching Hospital, Nnewi, delivered the guest lecture titled “Overview of Pain Management Modalities with Highlights on Acupuncture”. There were about three hundred guests at the ceremony including seventy registered delegates. Prof Simbo Daisy Amanor-Boadu (of the same Department as the foundation president) succeeded Professor Soyannwo as President from 2005 to 2009. Professor Amanor-Boadu handed nover to Prof Matthew OB Olaogun (of the Department of Medical Rehabilitation, College of Health Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU)/Department of Physiotherapy OAU Teaching Hospital, Ile Ife Nigeria) in July 2009.
President: Dr. IkeOluwapo O. Ajayi,
Department of Epidemiology and Medical Statistics,
College of Medicine, University of Ibadan.
1st Vice President: Prof Fola Faponle
Department of Anaesthesia,
Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital Complex, Ile-Ife, Nigeria.
2nd Vice President: Dr. Aderonke Akinpelu
Department of Physiotherapy,
College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Ibadan.
Secretary: Dr Olayinka R. Eyelade
Department of Anaesthesia, University College Hospital, Ibadan, Nigeria
Treasurer: Mr. P.A. Ojo,
School of Nursing, University College Hospital, Ibadan.
Auditor I: Dr. L.N. Ebirim
Dept of Anaesthesia,
University of Port-Harcourt Teaching Hospital, Port-Harcourt, Nigeria.
Auditor II: Dr. M. Abdurrahman
Department of Veterinary Surgery
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nigeria.
Ex-Officio: Prof. M.O.B. Olaogun Department of Medical Rehabilitation and Physiotherapy, Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital Complex, Ile-Ife, Nigeria.


  • Encouraging Pain Research
  • Improving the Management of Pain
  • Promoting Education and Training in the field of pain
  • Contributing to the National policy on issues relating to Pain organization
  • Seeking and maintaining affiliation with the International Society for the Study of Pain (IASP)
CopyRight 2010 Society for the Study of Pain, Nigeria. Design by Exolve Media